More Democratic Wins In Chicago Suburbs

Tenth Dems Congratulates Latest Democrats To Flip Offices From Red To Blue

Democratic Candidates Defeat Republicans in Illinois State House, Lake County Sheriff, and Lake County Board Races

Deerfield, IL — The Tenth Congressional District Democrats (Tenth Dems) congratulates four more Democrats in Lake County who won races for offices currently held by Republicans. After Election Day, all four were either trailing or slightly ahead in their respective races. Once all the votes, including vote-by-mail and provisional ballots, were counted on Tuesday at the Lake County Clerk’s Office, the Democratic candidates prevailed over their Republican opponents.

Democrat Mary Edly-Allen defeated incumbent Republican State Representative Helene Miller Walsh (51st District). Though only one vote separated the two on Election Night, Edly-Allen won by over 200 votes after all the votes were counted.

In the Lake County Sheriff’s race, Democrat John Idleburg defeated incumbent Republican Lake County Sheriff Mark Curran.

Democrats won more seats on the Lake County Board. Jessica Vealitzek (County Board District 10) and Jennifer Clark (County Board District 15) defeated Republican incumbents. Clark beat the acting chair of the Lake County Board.

“Democrats did very well in 2016 and in the municipal elections in 2017, so this year’s success continues that trend. These victories show that Democrats in the 10th District are energized, organized, and winning over voters while local Republicans prove themselves to be out of the mainstream and out of touch. There’s a clear contrast and voters are clearly siding with Democrats,” said Tenth Dems’ Founding Chair Lauren Beth Gash.

These Democratic wins cap a historic election year for Democrats in the 10th District and neighboring areas in the Chicago suburbs. Here are some highlights:

  • Democrats Edly-Allen and Joyce Mason (61st District) defeated incumbent Republican State Representatives.
  • In a clean sweep, Democrats (Idleburg, Holly Kim (Treasurer), and Robin O’Connor (Clerk)) won all three countywide offices in Lake County on the ballot over Republican incumbents.
  • Democrats flipped five Lake County Board seats held by Republicans, and now control the Lake County Board for the first time in history.
  • In suburban Cook County, Democrats flipped a Republican-held State Senate seat (Ann Gillespie, 27th District), State House seat (Mark Walker, 53rd District), County Board seat (Scott Britton, 14th District), and judgeship (Joel Chupack, 12th Subcircuit).
  • Lauren Underwood and Sean Casten defeated incumbent Republican Congressmen Randy Hultgren and Peter Roskam, respectively, in neighboring Chicagoland districts.

Join us! Help elect Democrats in our area:

The Tenth Dems blog is intended to be a forum that builds community and provides for respectful and healthy exchange of ideas. We are open to different points of view and hope that all of our readers will feel comfortable engaging in conversation. Opinions expressed on this website belong to their respective authors, and publication does not necessarily imply endorsement by the Tenth Congressional District Democrats. Inappropriate comments may be deleted.